Image result for dunkirk

           Clock’s Ticking

Reviewed by Mason Manuel

Leaving the theater after the showing of Dunkirk, the number one thing etched into my brain was the importance and fleeting nature of time. A constant splinter in my mind, Nolan’s use of time make me drastically aware of how fleeting seconds were, even in the most mundane of circumstances. Like his previous work in Inception, Nolan’s use of the clock in his latest proves a most powerful tool in expressing human desperation and the need for survival. This twisting of time and humanity proves Dunkirk to be quite close to a masterpiece. Read the rest of this entry »

Chat  —  Posted: July 20, 2017 in Movie Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Image result for game of thrones

Thrones is back baby, and with it comes the near certain demise of beloved characters. Now that we have reached the penultimate season, the writers are going to have to stop coughing up awaited answers and untimely deaths. In that spirit, for your reading pleasure I have gathered up the top ten most likely to bite the arrow shaped bullet in this year’s most likely to die. Have fun kids. Read the rest of this entry »

Chat  —  Posted: July 16, 2017 in Spotlight
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Image result for spider-man: homecoming

Back to School

Marvel and Sony made waves when the news of their new, complex partnership would allow Spider-Man to finally take part in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. After the highly praised Civil War appearance, fans have been eagerly waiting to see what Spidey’s creators would do with control over one of their most popular characters. The answer to said waiting? Marvel straight up knocks it out of the park with star Tom Holland embodying everything that makes the friendly neighborhood spider guy so damn wonderful. Read the rest of this entry »

Chat  —  Posted: July 7, 2017 in Movie Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Time to wrap up Season 3 of Telltale’s The Walking Dead with some super family drama filled zombie slaying.

Chat  —  Posted: July 5, 2017 in Let's Play!
Tags: , , , , ,

Image result for baby driver

Bad news for those hoping to save money on what has been a frankly mediocre blockbuster season. Director Edgar Wright’s latest, Baby Driver is flat out amazing and very well might be the Wright’s masterpiece. Giving a go for best movie soundtrack ever, the film plays more like a two hour long music video with more guns involved. With a kick-ass cast and even better action, the film is likely to go down as one of the greats for this year. Read the rest of this entry »

Chat  —  Posted: June 16, 2017 in Movie Reviews
Tags: , , , , , ,

Image may contain: 1 person, text

The next iteration in the MCU is coming! Directed by Creed’s Ryan Coogler starring Chadwick Boseman and Michael B. Jordan, the film will follow the trials of new king T’challa and his fight against the forces that would desecrate his homeland. Black Panther is scheduled for a February 2018 release.

 

Chat  —  Posted: June 10, 2017 in Spotlight
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Image result for alien covenant

Ridley’s Back Baby… Kind Of

Reviewed by Mason Manuel

Following the absolute nightmare that was the Alien prequel, Prometheus, Director Ridley Scott once again takes the reigns of his flagship franchise. Feeling like a “I’m sorry” note for fans who had such high hopes for the mentioned prequel, Covenant refreshingly steps away from the vagueness of its predecessor and delivers some real answers plaguing the Alien story for years. However passing the bar set by his last entry is not exactly a high goal to set and therein lies some of the deep set issues with the actual film.  Read the rest of this entry »

Chat  —  Posted: May 21, 2017 in Movie Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

097.JPG

By Mason Manuel

I figure RDR is finally old enough to do an ‘”issues” article so here goes nothing. If you’re looking for more movie content we will have a review for Alien: Covenant and King Arthur: Legend of the Sword up shortly. But for just this once, this article is just me.

Frustration and jealousy are curious things as they often work in tandem but can also be causative of each other. RDR was started because I wanted to focus my drive for the one real passion I have in the only way that seemed feasible to me. After the site began to take off I became more immersed in blogging and met some wonderful people who had been doing the same thing for some time. It became instantly clear that I was out of my league but that was okay because I was doing something that was becoming increasingly enjoyable. The community was being built and more film blog vets were helping me create what I wanted. Read the rest of this entry »

Chat  —  Posted: May 17, 2017 in Spotlight
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,